Is Your Recruitment Agency Seeing Beyond Your CV?

Look-beyond-760x428

Ok, so I wrote a whole justification for this blog which covered a job search avenues and had a go at appraising which added value to the candidate, which were quick and which were slow, which were “hit and hopes” and those that allowed some dialogue but in all honesty it would have made a narcoleptic of the best of us.

Anyways getting to the point, over the last few months I’ve started to ask people what they expect from me as a recruiter but I use my special Jedi mind trick and ask it like this:

“Hey, tell me, what are your expectations of me?”

I could tell that few had even thought about this let alone be asked directly but that’s the exact reason I stuck with it. To be different.

True, most of the responses I received were fairly typical such as career advice, getting them in front of potential employers and all-important interview preparation.

While these things are all important, it’s not really what I would consider the chief value of enlisting the help of a recruiter such as myself. For some, perhaps those first entering the job market, they are eager to take any job that comes their way.

But for the experienced recruiter, it is all about finding the right people for the right jobs.

So what would I expect if I was in the job seeker’s shoes? Easy, I would look for maximum added value with help to achieve what I cannot on my own.

I would expect more from a recruiter than them simply firing my CV out to a few companies – not all of them relevant – because, at the end of the day, I could do this myself.

I would expect a recruiter to know the company I want to work for, as well as the wider industry, inside-out, having built-up professional relationships with key decision-makers.

This means finding a recruiter who will spend time getting to know you as an individual; not just what it says in your CV.

It’s about finding out what makes the person tick, what they like and dislike and what journey they wish to travel in order to find the right sort of workplace culture that will help them be successful in their chosen career.

When this partnership is successful it can make all the difference in getting a CV out of the no and maybe piles and putting that candidate in front of potential employers.

Leave a Reply

